Poll: Meds

OK, so doing something I’ve never done before usually leads me to think things I’ve never wondered before. The relatively new thing in my life is reading mental health issue blogs. (Again, the due diligence thing.) I’ve gathered many new thoughts, e.g. how different people seem to define “functioning” and how they situate themselves on that weird spectrum. Another thought is that we all have different perspectives and relationships to meds. So, as promised in a comment on Daily Bipolar, here’s the first Define Functioning Poll:

1. How many prescribed meds to you take daily (no need to specify, since we’re open to all diagnoses here)?
I’ll go first: two.

2. How many prescriptions do you have for “as needed” reasons, that you don’t necessarily take daily?
one.

3. How do you feel about your answers to Questions 1 and 2?
I hate meds. After my reaction to the first psychiatric drugs I was prescribed ten years ago, I’ve worked very hard to keep all my dosages down. They help, but I’m terrified of over-doing it. That means that I probably deal with more symptoms than I might need to, but it’s a balancing act: I can think better taking lower dosages than I do at higher dosages, and I chose to live with residual and persistent symptoms. I will always add more therapy sessions before I up my meds.

Your turn.

19 comments
  1. erinire said:

    1. How many prescribed meds to you take daily (no need to specify, since we’re open to all diagnoses here)?
    I take four meds daily, but am weaning down to three.

    2. How many prescriptions do you have for “as needed” reasons, that you don’t necessarily take daily?
    one.

    3. How do you feel about your answers to Questions 1 and 2?
    I feel fine about it. Better living through chemistry, and better NOT living with persistent, unyielding depression.

  2. 1. 4

    2. none. One of my dailies is an increasable (word?) one as needed and as mentioned in my blog In the Midst.

    3. It took me 2 years from the time my therapist recommended my psych to actually go to said psych and take meds. So that was 5.5 years ago. Once I got going, I got real thankful. I am thankful that I can be helped, thankful it didn’t take long, grateful for the changes I have been able to make by taking my meds…twice a day (mostly), and grateful to be of the high functioning sort. We’re all chemicals anyway and as someone reminded me last night, so are the meds.

  3. said:

    Thought a little about what I wrote this morning. And I’ve decided that “hate” is a strong word (for question 3). I don’t hate my meds. I appreciate what they do. I’m just also scared of them and can’t afford being numb. Working is therapy for me. If my meds make it so I can’t work, then I have bigger problems than some lingering symptoms.

    • I can totally relate. That topic is the typical topic with my psychiatrist to make sure the meds are still working for me. If I can’t work, what good am I?

    • erinire said:

      “working is therapy for me”. Ha. so true.

  4. 1. two
    2. none
    3. I am highly dependant on my meds. I become psychotic when not on them, but I found the right “cocktail” right away. HOWEVER, I hate the side effect of weight gain and the struggle to lose weight on the meds too, but I rather be fat than out of control.

    • said:

      I agree with the trade-off (overweight > crazytown), but I also feel you about the weight gain worry. I’m about as vain as they come, and it’s hard for me to feel better if my body doesn’t feel like it’s at a healthy weight. This is, of course, a partial lie: “healthy weight” is what I say when I don’t want to admit to my vanity.

  5. Meredith said:

    ok. forgot one. so I’m on 5. The fifth is completely as needed Ambien. No explanation necessary.

  6. ONE.
    ONE.
    Feeling pretty good about meds- right now. Recently, having my first, full blown manic episode, I’ve been re-diagnosed from situational major depression to full blown Bipolar I. This has sent my mind on a möbius strip. I’ve been less than functioning for the last three years. The kicker is that my mental state is no longer temporary, its for the rest of my life. (Bummer.) I really held onto that… that it was situational to a recent trauma. “I’ll get over this- it’s not forever.” (sigh) The trauma just un-layered, revealed, broke open, betrayed… Gotta say, though, the meds have helped in the current crisis.

    nice post, ∃,
    jt

    • That’s good the meds have helped, bipoartude. But I must share this: http://bit.ly/galXQI

      I am not (in the face of recent happenings) giving up on the idea that perhaps one day I could be unbipolar. It is not ruling me, but I am open. Maybe you can be the same, or maybe not. We all have our own ways. Thanks for sharing!

      • Hey, Meredith,

        Thank YOU for sharing. And for the link. I have checked out your blog before and enjoyed it! Like you, I’m just trying to figure it all out. I remain open to many things: just being diagnosed with Bipolar three weeks ago, does that mean I even have it? I told my docs that, if they wanted to medicate me, I’d only take ONE drug. No cocktails, please. I’ve read that you have to be on medication for life; I hope that’s not the case. I’ll do as much research as I can to understand options. During the process, I hope it doesn’t become my identity. I’ll be very vigilant that it does not.

        cheers,
        jt

    • said:

      Hey jt…

      Welcome to the club! That, of course, is meant to welcome you to Define Functioning, but also to the world of möbius minds populated with people who respect and defend an umlaut. Although, as written elsewhere, I do prefer to think of my mind as a projective plane.

      While this forum is for anyone (regardless of diagnosis) who self-defines as “high-functioning” or has the self-expectation to be “high-functioning,” as someone who shares your diagnosis I’d like to offer my (current) perspective on the temporality of the crazypants mind: Dude, it’s never forever. Through my experience — and pretty much by definition — bipolar (I or II) is all about the temporary. It’s about the moods, and they will always eventually pass. The trick is figuring out how to help them along, how to minimize the damage, and how to maintain your self through the process.

      Thanks for your comment in the forum! Hope you like some of our other discussions as well.

      Best,

      • Right on, ∃!

      • Heya, ∃,

        Thanks for the warm welcome! I used to see myself on a projected plane, and I do someday again- soon. Even though my blog is new- and has been mostly about the struggles of being diagnosed while coming off a “crazypants” manic episode- I have always said that I will beat this thing. (I guess that’s “high-functioning” in this new world’s vernacular) I like what you said by “the trick is figuring out how to help them along, how to minimize the damage, and how to maintain your self through the process.” I’m amazed at how much knowledge and experience you all have living with this- and thrilled to be invited to the party.

        cheers,
        jt

        ps- thanks for saying it’s never forever… whew.

  7. Jess said:

    1. Two
    2. One (because I just added a birth control [so total meds in question 1 is 3], so just in case my other med decreases in efficacy)
    3. I feel fine with it. I’ve gotten used to taking meds every morning. I know that I need them to keep me stable, and I am okay with that. I hope one day to wean down my dosage of one from 200mg to maybe 100mg, but we’ll see.

  8. UPDATE: Post Psychiatric intake

    1. How many prescribed meds to you take daily: THREE. (Previously: one.)

    2. How many prescriptions do you have for “as needed” reasons, that you don’t necessarily take daily?
    One. (Previously: none)

    3. How do you feel about your answers to Questions 1 and 2?

    Well, I didn’t want the “cocktail.” No one hit wonder for me… “No soup for you!”

    On #1: The old-school Wellbutrin, adding to Lamictal, as I’m a major depressive makes me want to fly. Seriously, “I can fly!”

    On #2: Without it right now, I’d be full-blown manic and jumping off my newly planted balcony. (It’s gorgeous!) The girls, Lora and Pam (Lorazepam) helped me out as they are SUPER with projects.

    but i’m all in after thinking i was a ghost for a year,
    jt

  9. jt,
    awesome with accepting your plight! And I especially like the soup nazi reference! I accidentally hit the down thumb instead of the thumbs up! so sorry.
    m

  10. The grid can usually be mounted at different heights.
    This article lists the various types of these units based on the place where they
    may be used. This is why you have to look for the enamel-coated ones.

  11. Neva said:

    Excellent site you have here.. It’s hard to find high-quality writing like yours nowadays.

    I really appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

Add to the Discussion

