A Moment to Reflect and Plan

image created from the Free Hugs Campaign International's Flickr page

Upfront Disclaimer: You’ll have to forgive me if this post is a little mushy.

On a personal note, the last two months have been amazing for me. Not really in the MI sorta way and not really in the I’ve-gotten-oh-so-much-work-accomplished sorta way. It’s been amazing because of the development of this forum. In the comments and in my email, I’ve gotten quite a bit of feedback recently, and now I think a little status update is in order.

With your help, I’ve started learning what issues people really want to discuss. I’m getting more Community Contribution posts than I can quickly post. I’m receiving more volunteered contributions to the Current Reading than I had hoped for. The conversations happening in the comments are leading to more and better From the Comments posts than expected. (To be honest, the From the Comments topics weren’t even originally planned out, but the discussions have proven thorough enough to need them.)

While my need for a pseudonym means I’ve done almost zero promotion of the site, we continue to grow. To be clear, I’ve never hoped this site would be too large for productive conversation. Still, I’m happy to see new participation from those who find it useful. I’m happy to see that it’s useful at all.

In the last two months, we’ve started addressing how the needs of the so-called “high-functioning” differ from the needs of others not given that label. We’ve started talking about how some needs are no different at all. We’ve talked seriously on many different ways stigma affects our decisions and our lives. And we’ve challenged the definition of “functioning” more times than I can count — each time revealing a little more about how we see ourselves and each other and a little more about how the MI community, including professionals, and the world might see us — each time revealing a little more about what it is about that label that might be unproductive.

While DF is still technically in its Baby Beta stage, I already know it’s more than I had hoped. For that, I just want to take a moment to thank you. Thank you for your help. Thank you for spreading the word that this forum is here for those who don’t find what they are looking for at their local support groups. Thank you for your contributions, your honesty, your willingness to share and relate and discuss. Thank you for reminding me and the rest of the forum that, while many of us may hide in different parts of our lives, we are not alone.

Now a moment to look forward: The next couple months are about to be super busy for me. In an effort to plan ahead and not let our momentum slow, I’d like to start building a back log of discussion topics to post at regular intervals. This is an Open Call for topics. (OK, I know there’s a permanent Open Call for topics, but now would be awesome.) If you’ve been thinking about something  you’d like to put forward for discussion, please send it my way via email. It can be anything from a couple sentences or questions to a fully written post.

Again, You Guys Rock.

1 comment
  1. Jen said:

    Backward E, I just want to say, I love this forum! I think you’ve done an excellent job at spear-heading something which needed to exist, but which didn’t because no one had really connected the dots about what needed to exist. I think that this forum has been very thought-provoking for me, and that talking with other people who have insight and intelligence into their mental states has helped me feel less alone in the world. So, thank you for that. I would like to contribute more and will try to soon, though right now is a difficult time for me.

Add to the Discussion

